I wish I was there ..

After the match against NZ, I had a very strong feeling that Pakistan would win the Twenty20 world cup. I went around telling everyone who cared that we were going to pull this one off. Why? Because we needed it. It was not about cricket, rather, it was about a nation that had been surrounded by difficulties from all sides, a nation that needed some good news.

When Afridi ran the winning run, I was surprised by my own reaction. I did not feel the euphoria that thousands of Lahorites felt; the overwhelming joy I had expected never arrived and a sadness took over me which was inexplicable.

I followed the match by devouring every article on cricinfo on the win, the feeling of sadness intensified. Then I called my friend, who like me is living away from Pakistan, and when I spoke to him I realized what had happened: we wanted to be there, wanted to share these moments with our fellow countrymen. We had suffered as much as they had back home. Every piece of bad news had been a blow and we had looked forward to this moment. This small piece of good news.

I wanted to watch the match on a crowded bazaar in Lahore. I wanted to cheer every fall of wicket when we were bowling and every run scored while chasing. I wanted to believe that like our team with no one willing to back it up, we too, as nation, would rise to face the challenges as a team, and pull through.

But I wanted to do all of this with thousands of others who felt the same way.

May Allah bring ease for the people of Pakistan.

Amin.

This entry was posted in life in PK. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

