Regrets on Parting with My old Dressing Gown. .

I wish I could get my hands on the original essay .. but here is a summary taken from

link 

Diderot is also the author of a charming essay called Regrets on Parting with My Old Dressing Gown, in which he describes how the gift of a beautiful scarlet dressing gown plunges him into debt and turns his life upside down. Initially pleased with the unexpected gift, Diderot describes how he soon came to rue his new garment. Compared to his elegant dressing gown, the rest of his possessions began to seem tawdry. His old straw chair, for example, just wouldn’t do. So he replaced it with an armchair covered in Moroccan leather. And the rickety old desk that groaned under his papers; that was out, too, and in came an expensive new writing table. Even the beloved prints that hung on his walls had to make way for newer, more costly prints. “I was absolute master of my old dressing gown,” Diderot writes, “but I have become a slave to my new one … Beware of the contamination of sudden wealth. The poor man may take his ease without thinking of appearances, but the rich man is always under a strain.”

This entry was posted in Food for thought, Funny, People, Popular culture. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Regrets on Parting with My old Dressing Gown. .

  1. completelyreversed says:

    The problem of the every so visible “Middle Class” in sub continent, AKA, “Safaid Poshi”

  2. dilsenomad says:

    Actually, come to think of it, this happened to me a month earlier. My brother was around and he decided to buy me some new clothes, I needed a couple of things so I let him buy me some. Later I realized that for the last two years I had been wearing brown shoes and they did not go with my newly acquired clothes, so I had to buy a black pair, as well.

    Honestly, once you start it is hard to check out .. like it says in the Eagles’ song, Hotel California:

    You can checkout any time you like,
    But you can never leave!

  3. Orlia says:

    Hey,
    here is a translation of the whole article, courtecy of marxists.org 2005.

    http://www.marxists.org/reference/archive/diderot/1769/regrets.htm

  4. dilsenomad says:

    Wonderful. Thank you Orlia 🙂

  5. Zane says:

    Diderot effect!

  6. Julian says:

    Diderot Effect and Diderot Unity, can be distinguished with Marx Commodity Form in the 19th century :/

Leave a Reply

