My kind of education

This is an article from http://www.thewesternmuslim.com It is very well written, especially, for someone who finds home schooling an outrageous idea…

Honestly, I am all for homeschooling.

A Beginner‘s Class


Inspired by the current fad of absurd reality shows, I thought I had come up with a truly novel idea. Suppose a large number of children were grouped together for eight hours a day, five days a week, for nine months of year. These children would be separated primarily according to age and be forced to inter act with one another. Wouldn‘t it be entertaining to see ho w these children inter mingled together, wouldn‘t it just be fascinating to observe their gossiping, bullying, partying, and various other inane pastimes? And for the illusion of substance we could add in the odd multiple choice tests, contrived lab reports, and repetitive worksheets. Nothing too difficult, of course. Nothing that would distract them from the all– important task of socializing.

Excited, I told a good friend about this absurd idea of mine. She pointed out that it‘s already been done. Apparently, it‘s called school. I argued that my reality show would have cameras following the children around, documenting their every move. My friend then brought the brand new Sony surveillance cameras installed directly above us to my attention. So much for that brilliant idea. Complete Article

This entry was posted in Children and Education. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My kind of education

  1. azhar says:

    I think the combination of social skills and academic ones is a necessity. Social skills define personal success. I have come across Phd’s that cannot coherently put an argument forward to win over a few peers. To me having knowledge is pointless unless you have the skills to share it, because without them you are nothing but another data bank.

    So if you are getting home schooled without losing on the real peer interaction kudos to your parents. Since majority of the parents cannot provide that to their kids (For heavens sake my father could not do multi variable calculus and we never had facilities to accommodate a chem lab, both subjects I learned at school through very interesting peers not teachers) I think proper school remains the most convenient and the only solution.

  2. dilsenomad says:

    To me knowledge is everything, because the ability to pass it on is also learned.

    As to socialization, I do not want my kids socializing with the rich brats, I would much rather have them spend loads of time everyday with cousins, and other family friends.

    I think homeschooling is hard, but I think, it is very rewarding.
    Academically, its superiority is not questoinable, and as I said we can make for social interaction.

  3. azhar says:

    I disagree, :-), there are so many things 99% of the families will not be able to do, just a few things that pop in my mind when i think about it are,

    1. Parents are not educated enough to provide the learning necessary for a budding mind.

    2. Why so much emphasis on academia?

    3. Should a kid not be allowed to be a kid.

    4. If I become the teacher to my kids, when do they see me as a father?

    5. Are friends outside the family structure not important?

    6. Team sports require more individual’s than todays society of 2 kids provide.

    7. If I am all for home schooling do I give up earning a living?

    8. Rich / Poor / Politically connected / should a kid not decide who he wants to be friends with? If he is making a wrong choice you should be there to show him the difference not make a decision for him/her.

    9. Without contrasting behaviors and attitudes how does one pick up their own sense of right or wrong.

    I am sorry but I am not a big fan of academic superiority or any superiority, an individual should never be rushed or pressured by peers / authority figures alike. Sense of logic and questioning is not an innate ability, its a learned skill as you mentioned, that comes from one’s sense of confidence and ease in any environment (rich, poor, rustic, foreign, religious).

    After my fathers passing I do not miss the times he spend teaching me tenses as a kid, but the garage cricket, the usual rewarding game of table tennis for finishing my homework, the discussion on how he wasted countless hours reading dawata (a long running suspense digest fiction) just like me and how I was told every time I screwed up, “Don’t worry you are just a kids, you are going to make mistakes and you are going to learn from them.”

    What I am trying to say is if you have resources, great, home school but its not for everyones. To me its a matter of my kids looking at me as a father figure with emotional attachment rather than as a teacher and an authority figure.

    I guess underlying issues differ from one individual to another. To me as an individual its more important that my kids are happy among a circle of peers be they jocks, rich brats, geeks or so , as long as they are happy thats all that would matter.

    P.S. Put a topic on that we can both agree upon 😉

  4. dilsenomad says:

    1. Parents are not educated enough to provide the learning necessary for a budding mind.

    >>>>Yes, here we agree. I too think it is not for everyone, but you are not everyone, you are more educated and can give your child much more than any teacher will ever.

    2. Why so much emphasis on academia?

    My bad. There isnt emphasis on academia. You see because of schools children dont have ample time for other things, i am proposing you free them to enjoy and appreciate other things.

    3. Should a kid not be allowed to be a kid.

    >. Ofcourse, again that is the purpose. If you notice it is school that doesnt allow them to be kids. From a very early age they are disciplined and taught to obey anal orders.
    In my book the first 7 years a kid is a kid.. so for the first 7 years complete fun for him with little tutoring.

    4. If I become the teacher to my kids, when do they see me as a father?

    >> Honestly, the teachers I have learnt from are able to manage the dual role easily. In the sense that a teacher should be like a parent, teaching with love and making learning enjoyable. Not limited to books, I stress, again.

    5. Are friends outside the family structure not important?

    >> They can chill with children around the neighborhood, family friends etc;

    6. Team sports require more individual’s than todays society of 2 kids provide.

    >> There are sports clubs they can go and play at. Specially, loads in the west.

    7. If I am all for home schooling do I give up earning a living?

    >> No. It wont take that much of your time if your wife helps. Ideally, what you do is get something arranged with a few friends, where each of you gives time to others children. Planning and organization!

    8. Rich / Poor / Politically connected / should a kid not decide who he wants to be friends with? If he is making a wrong choice you should be there to show him the difference not make a decision for him/her.

    9. Without contrasting behaviors and attitudes how does one pick up their own sense of right or wrong.

    8 and 9 are similar … you are a creative individual I am sure you can create scenarios, put them in such situations where they have to make such decisions.

  5. dilsenomad says:

    🙂 hehe .. I am an agreeable person .. OK … next post should take care of that complaint 😉

  6. azhar says:

    Help, I am trying to trace an article from this blog that had argument to how schools are keeping kids longer than they are suppose to just to accommodate job markets. I liked it but now I cannot find it. 😦

  7. dilsenomad says:

    I will just assume this was not a smart alecy comment 😉
    I shall post a detailed article on that with references …

Leave a Reply

